Sunday, April 17, 2011

Below is a copy/paste of a post I made on the forums....I'm starting to see a bit of a pattern in my blog posts. I can't seem to get on a schedule, but when I decided to make a simple lolpost and suddenly I'm writing blobs of text....

I have to get myself started and then my thoughts just naturally start to come out. :P

Below is that post (the important part)

Eve is really a quite simple game. Blobs are a part of it, as blobs were and are a part of real life.

To take an oft-referenced example, look at the Persian Empire v Greece.

The Persians had a vast slave army, which was mostly unskilled/inferior (NC + vast hordes of pets/"bffs").

The Grecians had lesser numbers, but vastly superior weaponry, skills, and were backed by a strong armored/professional core of hoplites/spartans(PL/NCdawt/skilled pvpers).

Though outnumbered, the Grecians were able to slaughter the inferior Persians, and save Grecian City-States from conquest.

Years later, the Grecian city states became divided and were individually conquered.

Another example were the Roman Legions. Through strict discipline and attention to detail, there are numerous examples of heavily outnumbered Roman Legions absolutely destroying far greater numbers (slave uprisings, barbarians) of inferior forces.

In early medieval Europe, the knight-class emerged, and for years the Knights(supers) were an undefeatable force, with the heavy cavalry charge(supercap hotdrop) being entirely unbeatable. The immense cost of the arms, armor, and upkeep of a stable of horses + servants meant that their numbers were always lower than that of the common peasants. He who had the most Knights easily won every fight.

Knights were not, however constant assets. Knights were expensive, and there are many cases of knights deserting or leaving the service of a lord when morale became low, or when the flow of money was interrupted.

What is happening with the NC + Blobs currently is a combination of all of the above.

The "city states" of more skilled pvpers are uniting, and the difference between them and the NC, is they have organized supers that are motivated, experienced and firmly loyal. The NC's supers are mostly based off of isk, and are personal toys, rather than firm military alliance-backed assets like the DRF/PL/NCdawt's are.

As the NC's morale falls, more and more of their supers are leaving/not showing up for ops. The same goes for their large meatshield/peasant base, as morale drops, so does the body of serfs they have to call on to bolster their blobs.

The NC was formed on an unsustainable model, and is currently witnessing the results of that failed model. They would have fallen under MAX 2 had there not been internal friction between the SC at the time. PL provided the prototype of what a small core of seriously skilled/experienced could accomplish, and with larger amounts of skilled pvpers arraying against them, the NC will fall without drastic model changes. It is inevitable.

-Lord's Servant

Thursday, March 31, 2011

Battle Reports on our Move to X-70

As most of eve now knows (unless you've been living in motsu running level 4s under a rock) NCdawt and Ev0ke along with a couple friends have moved into NPC pure blind for some pewpew since providence got entirely too boring for us.

Here are some copy pasted reports I wrote on eve-tribune.com...because I somewhat fail at maintaining this blog.

In the words of Kirith Kodachi....."blogging is a habit you need to get into."

Indeed :)

First report starting HERE...

just want to thank the DC for giving us a nice warm "welcome to the north" last night.

http://eve-kill.net/?a=kill_related&kll_id=9262360

1 Tech down, one ~500 NC blob raped, more to go. :)

Also lol @ RZR for shooting up platinum moons (one of mine included) while we're away taking their m8s tech moons while the russians overrun eastern vale and geminate :)

(and next report starts here)

More GF's coming. Last night, goonswarm + co acme in, camped the marjoity of our fleet into station with a 500+ man fleet, while they jumped titans, dreads, and SCs in next door and reinforced the tech moon.

Earlier in the day (I was not present) NCdawt + co. lost a fight largely outnumbered vs NC and co largely due to lag. What I have heard from several sources is, unlike the R6 node we fought on the night before, the X-70 node was not reinforced, resulting in much lag. The NC are more proficient fighting in heavy lag than we are, and their fleet doctrine(s) are built around this. Reps did not cycle, and we lost to the overwhelming numbers.

We stronted the R6XN tower for downtime, however, due to the slight fail of not having stront/a hauler on the right characters this morning, we were unable to restront the tower after downtime, which resulted in it's destruction.

Today we re-took a (tech?) moon with Evoke in in X-70 and reinforced the tech moon my corp lost this morning. The tower was initially unstronted, which resulted in some lolling to us from our spies on enemy comms, however, a bestower was able to come in just before the tower dropped below half shields and stront it. The tower had no defenses, and I believe no moon miner; simply mostly offline hardeners at the time we RF'd it.

In the meantime the russians overran LS-JEP and incapp'd / RF'd everything, with much lols from us as our spies on comms thirstily drank (and reported) the NC tears about "why do we have to stand down...we have the entire NC for numbers, HOW CAN WE BE OUTBLOBBED???"

(Personal note here - learn to fight outnumbered in fleets not dependant on lag chaps-then maybe you'll have a chance at winning with even numbers or outnumbered.)

Only time will tell if the NC C-Team can stand on their own while the russians continue inexorably grinding through the NC A+B teams ailing defenses.

-Lord's Servant, Total Mayhem., Northern Coalition.

Wednesday, March 9, 2011

Battlereport 3/8

Well yesterday was somewhat fun. I spent most of yesterday in nonstop ops/CTAs.

After getting home from college, I hopped into the first CTA Fleet with Lords(Lord's Servant). Initially they were calling for Guardians/Abaddons for what I believe was a POS bash, however after realizing that we were pretty outnumbered, they asked if anyone could bring triage archons....one of my favorite ships. Unfortunately for me, I didn't have one, however someone in an abaddon offered to switch out to a triage archon. The FC asked him to stay in the BS, I offered to fly his archon if it was ok with him, and after we noticed that we were both in the supercap channel, he traded it to me.

After much yelling by the FCs and Vince, everyone got on the titan, and we bridged in. Our triage carriers, about 3 or 4 of us if I recall were told to undock and wait until told to jump in. We were told, as any good group of triage carriers do, to cycle our triage so we were constantly coming in and out of triage at regular intervals so we could be repped up. I was second up to enter triage.

When we landed eideen(I think that was the name) was told to go triage, then go red(a term meaning activate then deactivate so you will exit after the first cycle). Somehow, another triage carrier, PK Geheegan went triage when he jumped in, against orders. Despite our repping, FC called for everyone to align to station, and for us carriers to cyno out. I, being out of triage, immediately cynoed out. I heard another confirmation over comms that eideen had exited triage and was also out. FC asked to double check that all carriers were out, and to speak up if we were tackled. Nobody spoke up, so FC ordered fleet to warp to station to regroup there for another round.

AFTER fleet had landed, over comms came "I'm tackled and going down in my archon." FC got extremely pissed and did a bit of raging over comms. Killmail here .

Since I was out of the picture with the fleet for the time being, I decided to log in my alt WizWaz for the second "op" happening that day - our corp was defending one of our highend moons.

We had 3 pos gunning chars to start with, mine had 4 guns, another had 4, and someone else had a fail 3 :P

With 10 mins to go on the RF timer, local started spiking, and the enemy warped to a safe 300km above the POS, just out of range of the guns. Their fleet was comprised of a vulture, some hurricanes, some basi/scimis, and a shitton of drakes. As pos came out of RF, the enemy warped in their fleet at optimal, and began shooting. We immediately starting lighting em up with the guns, concentrating our fire. We took several drakes to armor before they warped off - since we had been in RF, we had no warp disruption batteries to tackle. Finally, we took a hurricane down before he could warp. At this point, we were asking the CEO to log in his pos gunner char, and to ignore the other op(one of the gunners had literally ctrl q'd his abaddon upon warping it to station in sendaya, in the other fight).

After another 5 minutes of cat and mouse, with us taking several ships to armor, and even hull without a kill, our CEO logged on his char in a helios. However, instead of approach the tower to gun, he burned out of the shields and lit a cyno. I began to log in Servants(my supercarrier char) in the hopes that I could get in on the rapefest, however, the reason he lit the cyno became immediately apparent - an evoke gang of about 60 titan bridged in. The fleet sieging our tower, however, chose not to give them a good fight, simply losing a drake, and warping off, followed by jumping out of system. They didn't even try to shoot my CEO's cyno helios.

Shortly after, my ceo brought in his triage carrier to begin repping the POS, and I believe Evoke brought in some carriers of their own to help rep. :brofist: and danke schun to our evoke brosefs for helping us save the tower. :)

My job done, I logged off WizWaz, and focused my attention on Lords, moving back up to the CTA comms in TS3. The FC was just getting ready to go back in, and, after checking the supercap channel, the order was given to log in all supercaps - titans included. When we went back in, I jumped Lords in with the triage archon, and tried to jump Servants in. Notice I said "tried." My wyvern wasn't in PI5, which is where my archon was, so I had to jump to PI5 before going to sendaya. The Razor gang had mostly stood down, and the remnants were all clustered inside the POS. Right before I got jump cap (you need 71% capacitor to jump in a cap), the cyno went down in Sendaya. I asked FC for another cyno, but he said he didn't want to risk it as he wanted all supers capped up to gtfo if razor tried to drop us. Thus the only char I had on the op was Lords in his archon. I had to leave due to personal reasons (gym was closing and I was gonna miss my 6mile run if I didn't leave to do it right then), but I believe we reinforced the tower for more *goodfites* later.

Not many killmails due to my shiptypes, but still a fun day...I love my corp. :)

-Lords

PS-Stay tuned for my next post, which I'll hopefully put out in response to the whole "Jump Bridge/Coalition" Argument.

Friday, March 4, 2011

I am become internet spaceship meme incarnate....

So step 1 of my awesome viral marketing scheme is complete. A popular public killboard (eve-kill.net) has recently been taken over by me. For a while now, I have been intelligently commenting on kills and losses on that board, and occasionally ~bittervet~ raging at the amount of anonymous scrubs who don't know shit. Recently, the ignorant scrubs have gotten so bitter, that they have decided to start spamming the comments with my name. ;)

Additionally, all the scrubs seem to think I'm in the NC....wait what?

To dispel all silly rumors, I am the original "Lords" from eve-kill, and I am proud to be a member of Total Mayhem, which is proud to be a member of NCdawt (Northern Coalition.).

-Lord's Servant

PS-No all the idiotic comments up there are no longer me, I think it will be a while before I decide to post a comment, and I will most likely have to change my posting name (assuming everyone doesnt start copying that).

Thursday, March 3, 2011

Welcome Back

Well isnt this funny. 2 years, +1 character, -1 account, +1 super, and billions of isk later....I thought to myself, hmm I should start a blog. I google the word blog, and up pops blogger. Lovely, I think to myself..this should work nicely. I fill out all the information and at the end I get this message. "There is already a blog associated with this account."

ORLY?

So I look it up and here this one is....awesomesauce ;) So this is me officially reopening it and hopefully this time I won't just abandon it again.

So...I might as well do an overview of where/who I am atm.

I am Lord's Servant, known elsewhere as "Lords", "LS", or "Servant". My main character was created in 2006 by myself (I will never sell him) to be a miner. I very quickly changed from that path and went pvper. Present day he can use

-any gun in the game, with the exception of capital projectiles. Why not those? I dont fly minmatar dreads, only gallente and amarr

-t2 torps, t2 hams, t2 heavies, t2 rockets, with decent support skills

-all frigs at 5, all cruisers but caldari at 5, gallente and amarr bs 5, caldari/minmatar at 4

-recons, hics, hacs, logistics(lvl 5, which is sexy for logis and for triaging in my carrier(s)), dictors, ceptors, afs, eafs, amarr and gallente capital ships (dreads and carriers both)

I have three alts, one being a very minor alt.

The first is Servant's Lord. He is specced specifically for supercapital ships. Atm he flies my wyvern(a caldari supercarrier), and does so very well. Eventually I hope to get him in a ragnarok(minmatar titan). I will expound upon the reasoning later.

My second alt is WizWaz. She is the only "main" character which I own that I have bought. She flies minmatar and amarrian ships up to command ships. She does not fly any battleship hulled ships, and additionally has logistics 5, along with the ability to give any ganglink bonuses in the game with the exception of info links.

My final alt is Jeros Hun, who is a simple faction warfare char that runs missions for decent income. In recent times I havent been using him as much.

Thats all for now I think...rather busy with class. Since my last post I have "grown up" and am currently in college ;)

-Lord's Servant